The prizes are awarded annually and are a public recognition and tribute to the contributions that our scientists, innovators and science teachers are making to Australia's current and future scientific and commercialisation capabilities.

2016 Prize recipients

The 2016 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science was awarded at a presentation ceremony on 19 October 2016.

  • Prime Minister's Prize for Science
    Richard Shine
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation
    Michael Aitken
  • Prize for New Innovators
    Colin Hall
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year
    Richard Payne
  • Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year
    Kerrie Wilson
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Secondary Schools
    Suzy Urbaniak
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Excellence in Science Teaching in Primary Schools
    Gary Tilley

Read more about the presentation ceremony.

Previous prize recipients

The Prime Minister's Science Prizes for Science were introduced in 2000, replacing the Australia Prize which was awarded from 1990. Records are available about the prize recipients since 1990.

Share this Page